MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen, Bette Middler and More Honored By The Drama League

Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen, Bette Middler and More Honored By The Drama League

The Drama League (Executive Director, Gabriel Stelian-Shanks) announced today the winners at the 83rd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony: Outstanding Production of a Musical, Dear Evan Hansen; Outstanding Production of a Play, Oslo;  Outstanding Revival of a Musical, Hello, Dolly!;  Outstanding Revival of a Play, Jitney; and Distinguished Performance Award, Ben Platt, becoming the youngest actor to have won the coveted award, at a star-studded luncheon ceremony hosted Broadway husband-and-wife royalty — 6-time Tony® Award winner Audra McDonald and Tony® Award nominee Will Swenson at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway).

In addition to the competitive categories, Grammy® and Emmy® Award-winning, icon Bette Midler was honored with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; Bill Berloni was honored with the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; and Michael Greif was honored with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

During the ceremony, Drama League Program Director Sherri Eden Barber introduced the 2017 Directing Fellows of The Drama League Directors Project: Michael Alvarez, Laura Brandel, Jillian Carucci, Tom Costello, Matt Dickson, Justin Emeka, Bonnie Gabel, Flordelino Lagundino, Rebecca Martinez, Kholoud Sawaf, and Gabriel Vega Weissman.

The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon included a nominees cocktail reception, luncheon, and awards presentation held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom (1535 Broadway) on Friday, May 19, 2017.

Resolution Life is the proud Lead Season Sponsor of The Drama League. LIFEWTR, Host Sponsor of the 83rd Annual Drama League Awards.  Delta Air Lines is the Official Airline of The Drama League.  MAC Cosmetics is the Official Make-up Partner of The Drama League. The Drama League Awards Chairpersons are Bonnie Comley and Jano Herbosch.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. The Drama League Awards recognize distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements. The first Drama League Award was presented to Katharine Cornell in 1935; since then, the Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a roster of theatre legends such as Lin-Manuel Miranda, Chita Rivera, Neil Patrick Harris, Nathan Lane, Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, and Christopher Plummer.



Dear Evan Hansen

Music Box Theatre

Book by Steven Levenson

Music and Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

Directed by Michael Greif

Produced by Stacey Mindich, Mickey Liddell, Hunter Arnold, Caiola Productions, Double Gemini Productions, Fakston Productions, Roy Furman,

Harris Karma Productions, On Your Marks Group, Darren Bagert, Roger & William Berlind, Bob Boyett, Colin Callender, Caitlin Clements, Freddy DeMann,

Dante Di Loreto, Bonnie & Kenneth Feld, FickStern Productions, Eric and Marsi Gardiner, Robert Greenblatt, Jere Harris and Darren DeVerna,

The John Gore Organization, Mike Kriak, Arielle Tepper Madover, David Mirvish, Eva Price, Zeilinger Productions, Adam Zotovich, Ambassador Theatre Group,

Independent Presenters Network and The Shubert Organization (Philip J. Smith: Chairman; Robert E. Wankel: President);

Produced in association with Arena Stage (Molly Smith, Artistic Director; Edgar Dobie, Executive Director)

and Second Stage Theatre (Carole Rothman, Artistic Director; Casey Reitz, Executive Director);

Associate Producer: Jayne Hong and Rachel Weinstein

* * *



Lincoln Center Theater

Written by J.T. Rogers

Directed by Bartlett Sher

Produced by Lincoln Center Theater

(André Bishop: Producing Artistic Director; Adam Siegel: Managing Director;

Hattie K. Jutagir, Executive Director of Development and Planning)

* * *


Hello Dolly!

Shubert Theatre

Book by Michael Stewart

Music and Lyrics by Jerry Herman

Directed by Jerry Zaks

Produced by Scott Rudin, Roy Furman, James L. Nederlander, Eli Bush,

Universal Stage Productions, Roger Berlind, William Berlind, Heni Koenigsberg,

Terry Allen Kramer, Seth A. Goldstein, The John Gore Organization, Daryl Roth, The Araca Group,

Len Blavatnik, Eric Falkenstein, Ruth Hendel, Independent Presenters Network, Peter May,

Jay Alix & Una Jackman, Jane Bergère, Scott M. Delman, Wendy Federman, Stephanie P. McClelland,

Anita Waxman, Al Nocciolino, Spring Sirkin, Barbara Freitag and John Mara, Jr. & Benjamin Simpson

 * * *



Manhattan Theatre Club

Written by August Wilson

Directed by Ruben Santiago-Hudson

Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club (Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director; Barry Grove, Executive Producer);

Produced in association with Eric Falkenstein, Ron Simons, John Legend/Mike Jackson and Ken Wirth

* * *


Ben Platt

Dear Evan Hansen

* * *


Bette Midler

 * * *


Bill Berloni

 * * *


Michael Greif

Note: The Drama League also wishes to acknowledge the 2017 recipient of the Award for Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater, Bette Midler.  As an honoree, Ms. Midler was ineligible for nomination for her performance in Hello Dolly! this year.



Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. Currently she has a screenplay in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She was the Broadway Informer on the all access cable TV Show “The New Yorkers,” soon to be “The Tourist Channel.” email:

More in Broadway

Christy Altomare

Broadway In Bryant Park is Back

Suzanna BowlingJune 21, 2018
The Prom

Celebrating Pride Month With A First Listen to the New Musical The Prom

Suzanna BowlingJune 20, 2018
Fruit Trilogy

Eve Ensler’s Fruit Trilogy Gives Voice to The Oppressed

Suzanna BowlingJune 12, 2018

TDF Helping the New York Theatre Community For Over 50 Years

Suzanna BowlingJune 12, 2018
Fran Drescher

Fran Drescher and actor Christian Navarro Join Broadway Sings for Pride’s 8th Annual Charity Concert “Revolution”

Suzanna BowlingJune 12, 2018
Kelli O'Hara

Roundabout Theatre Company Brings Kiss Me, Kate, Kelli O’Hara, Warren Carlyle To Broadway

Suzanna BowlingJune 12, 2018
Ethan Slater

Tony Awards 2018 – Nominations, Predictions, and Outcomes (TBA)

RossJune 11, 2018

Harry Potter and The Band’s Visit Win Big At The Tony Awards

Suzanna BowlingJune 10, 2018

You Are There At The Tony Awards Part 3 Robert De Niro Says F**k You Trump and CBS Allows it

Suzanna BowlingJune 10, 2018