MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW
Off Broadway

 Cost of Living and School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play Tie At The Lucille Lortel’s

 Cost of Living and School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play Tie At The Lucille Lortel’s

The 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were awarded tonight in 19 categories. The Off-Broadway League event was hosted Laura Benanti and Jason Jones and served as a benefit for The Actors Fund.

Celebrated playwright Eve Ensler was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award and composer Michael Friedman will be posthumously inducted onto the famed Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre. WP Theater will be awarded as an institution for their Outstanding Body of Work.

The show open with a tap and vocal performance of “In My Day” by Jared MGrime.There was a beautiful performance of “In Passing Years” by Judy McLane. Tony nominees Tina Fey, LindsayMendez and Joshua Henry presented Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical. Andrew Rannells and Patti Murin are here to present Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical. Adam Chandelier Beret, Lisa Howard, Paul Alexander Nolan, Lauren Ridloff, Barrett Wilbert Weed Grey Henson, Will Rolland, Denise Gough, Phillipa Soo, Kate Rockwell, Lauren Ambrose, Harry Hadden-Paton, Tony Shaloub, Katerina Lenk, Jelani Alladin, Beth Malon, Brandon Victor Dixon, La Chanze, Marilu Henner, Carol Kane, Zachary Quinto and more  were all on hand to present and support.

2018 Lucille Lortel Winners Are……..

Outstanding Play a tie:  Cost of Living, Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club in association with Williamstown Theatre Festival, Written by Martyna Majok and School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play, Produced by MCC Theater, Written by Jocelyn Bioh


Outstanding Musical: KPOP, Produced by Ars Nova in association with Ma-Yi Theater Company and Woodshed Collective, Conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim, Book by Jason Kim, Music and Lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, Immersive Design by Woodshed Collective

Outstanding Revival: Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train, Produced by Signature Theatre, Written by Stephen Adly Guirgis



Harry Clarke

Outstanding Solo Show: Harry Clarke Produced by Vineyard Theatre in association with Audible, Written by David Cale, Performed by Billy Crudup

Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane

Outstanding Director: Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane


Outstanding Choreographer: Byron Easley, X: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation


Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped The 'A' Train

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play: Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train


Carrie Coon, Mary Jane

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play: Carrie Coon, Mary Jane


Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Mirirai Sithole, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Damon Daunno, The Lucky Ones

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical: Damon Daunno, The Lucky Ones


Ashley Park, KPOP

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical: Ashley Park, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Jason Tam, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer – The Opera

Outstanding Scenic Design: Louisa Thompson, In The Blood

Outstanding Costume Design: Dede M. Ayite, Bella: An American Tall Tale

Outstanding Lighting Design: Alan C. Edwards, Harry Clarke

Outstanding Sound Design: Leah Gelpe, Mary Jane

Outstanding Projection Design: Hannah Wasileski, Pipeline


Off Broadway

Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. Currently she has a screenplay in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She was the Broadway Informer on the all access cable TV Show “The New Yorkers,” soon to be “The Tourist Channel.” email:

More in Off Broadway

Songs For A New World

Songs for A New World, Gone Missing, Don’t Bother Me, I Can’t Cope Highlight Encores! Off-Center Summer

Suzanna BowlingMay 23, 2018
Tony Yazbeck

Beast in The Jungle with Tony Yazbeck, Irina Dvoenkorov and John Kander

Suzanna BowlingMay 22, 2018
The Obie Awards

And The Winners For The OBIE Awards Are……..

Suzanna BowlingMay 21, 2018
Chita Rivera

Carmen De Lavallade, Harvey Fierstein, Bryonha Parham and The Kids From Art of Dance Walk Away With the Chita Rivera Awards

Suzanna BowlingMay 20, 2018
Salvatore D’Aquilla, James Wallwork, Christopher McCurry, Kieran Knowles

Operation Crucible Stumbles in the Dark, but Survives the Blast

RossMay 20, 2018
Nicole Ansari, Tamara Sevunts

Pan Asian Repertory’s Daybreak Speaks From The Heart

Suzanna BowlingMay 18, 2018
Gilbert Cruz, Kelli Lynn Harrison

EST’s Bump is Premature

RossMay 18, 2018
Desperate Measures

Yee-Haw Desperate Measures Wins the Off Broadway Alliance Award

Suzanna BowlingMay 16, 2018

Theatre Poster Design Guru Frank “Fraver” Verlizzo Releases New Book

Suzanna BowlingMay 16, 2018