MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

Shockingly The Band’s Visit Beats Out Dear Evan Hansen as Oslo Wins Best Play at The Lucille Lortel Awards

Shockingly The Band’s Visit Beats Out Dear Evan Hansen as Oslo Wins Best Play at The Lucille Lortel Awards

The Lucille Lortel Awards ceremony was star studded with Broadway alumni. The who’s who and the brightest of theatre were in attendance.

Starting off the award ceremony was host Taren Killan, who introduced Shoshana Bean who belted out “Steppin’ Out with My Baby.”

The first award was presented by Jennifer Morrison and Matthew Perry for Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical and the winner is …Joel Perez for Sweet Charity!

Krystal Rodriguez and Corey Michael Smith gave the Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical to Rachel Bay Jones, for Dear Evan Hansen.

Ari Graynor introduced a clip from The Band Visit, the first Outstanding Musical nominee.

Hamilton’s Oak Smash and Jasmine Cephas Jones presented the Outstanding Costume Design award to Susan Hilferty, for Love Love Love!

A Bronx Tale’s Bobby Conte Thornton gave the Outstanding Scenic Design award to Laura Jellinek, for A Life!

Terrence McNally presented Harold Wolpert with the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award.

Laura Dreyfuss and Mike Faist introduce Outstanding Musical nominee, Dear Evan Hansen.

The Hairy Ape, Bobby Cannavale and Annie Parisse awarded the Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play to Michael Aronov, for Oslo!

A Bronx Tale’s Nick Cordero presented the Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play to Randy Graff, for The Babylon Line!

A multilingual “New York, New York,” by original cast members from And the World Goes Round! entertained.

Stephanie J Block presented the Outstanding Sound Design to Mikhail Fiksel, for A Life!

Eva Noblezada

Eva Noblezada

Corey Hawkins and Eva Noblezada present Outstanding Lighting Design to Mark Barton, for the Signature Plays: Edward Albee’s The Sandbox, María Irene Fornés’ Drowning, and Adrienne Kennedy’s Funnyhouse of a Negro.

Condola Rashad honored Lynn Nottage with this year’s Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee award.

Keegan-Michael Key presented Outstanding Projection Design to Jared Mezzochi, for Viegone!

Lena Hall and Giddon Glick present Outstanding Solo Show to Anna Deavere Smith and Notes From The Field.

Sophia Anne Caruso and Alex Brightman introduce Hadestown another Outstanding Musical nominee.

The original Natasha Phillipa Soo and her lover Lucas Steele present a well deserved Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical to Ben Platt for Dear Evan Hansen.

Steven Pasquale presented Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical to Katrina Lenk, for The Band’s Visit.

The Blue Man Group breaks to awards to entertain.

A moment to morn those we lost.

Anastasia’s Christy Altomare and Bandstand’s Corey Cott present Outstanding Choreographer! To David Dorfman, for Indecent.

Jayne Houdyshell present Bartlett Sher with Outstanding Director for Oslo.

Michael McKean and Annette O’Toole awarded Outstanding Revival to Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street.

One of my favorite shows was Ride The Cyclone and Michael Potts and Gayle Rankin are here to  introduce thisOutstanding Musical nominee.

Finn Wittrock  and Rachel Brosnahan presented Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play to Joe Morton, in Turn Me Loose.

GeorgeTakei and Debbi Mazar presented the Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play to Jennifer Ehle, for Oslo.

Jay A Johnson and Sarah Steele introduce the final Outstanding Musical nominee, The Total Bent.

LauraOsnes and Aaron Tveit introduce Lifetime Achievement honoree William Ivey Long.

The shock of the night is Best Musical Award is given by Judith Light to The Band’s Visit.

The last award of the night is presented by Andy Karl to Oslo.

The Winners are: 

Outstanding Play: Oslo: Produced by Lincoln Center Theater Written by J.T. Rogers

Outstanding Musical: The Band’s Visit: Produced by Atlantic Theater Company, Music and Lyrics by David Yazbek, Book by Itamar Moses, Based on the screenplay by Eran Kolirin.

Outstanding Revival: Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Produced by Rachel Edwards, Jenny Gersten, Seaview Productions, Nate Koch, Fiona Rudin, Barrow Street Theatre, Jean Doumanian, Rebecca Gold, and Tooting Arts Club. Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by Hugh Wheeler, Adaptation by Christopher Bond

Outstanding Solo Show: Notes From The Field, Produced by Second Stage Theatre and American Repertory Theater Created, Written, and Performed by Anna Deavere Smith

Outstanding Director: Bartlett Sher, Oslo

Outstanding Choreographer: David Dorfman, Indecent

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play: Joe Morton, Turn Me Loose

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play: Jennifer Ehle, Oslo

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Michael Aronov, Oslo

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Randy Graff, The Babylon Line

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical: Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical: Katrina Lenk, The Band’s Visit 

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Joel Perez, Sweet Charity.

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Rachel Bay Jones, Dear Evan Hansen.

Outstanding Scenic Design: Laura Jellinek, A Life! 

Outstanding Costume Design: Susan Hilferty, Love, Love, Love.

Outstanding Lighting Design: Mark Barton, Signature Plays: Edward Albee’s The Sandbox, María Irene Fornés’ Drowning, and Adrienne Kennedy’s Funnyhouse of a Negro

Outstanding Sound Design: Mikhail Fiksel, A Life

Outstanding Projection Design: Jared Mezzocchi, Vietgone


Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. Currently she has a screenplay in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She was the Broadway Informer on the all access cable TV Show “The New Yorkers,” soon to be “The Tourist Channel.” email:

More in Events

Macy's Christmas

Macy’s Unveils a Holiday Delight

Genevieve Rafter KeddyNovember 17, 2017
The Radio City Rockettes

The Radio City Rockettes Light Up the Empire State Building

Suzanna BowlingNovember 17, 2017
Alex Brightman, Michael Cerveris

Rockers on Broadway: Sound Check, Performance and Red Carpet

Genevieve Rafter KeddyNovember 16, 2017
Brooke Shields

Brooke Shields Joins The Cast of Disney’s The Happiest Millionaire

Suzanna BowlingNovember 16, 2017
Leonard Bernstein

Happy 100th Birthday Lenny As Wynton Marsalis and The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Pay Tribute

Suzanna BowlingNovember 14, 2017
Tommy Tune, Chita Rivera

Chita Rivera and Tommy Tune Were Honored For Helping Opera Stars of Tomorrow

Rose BillingsNovember 14, 2017
Cool Jazz

Celebrate the Holidays With Jazz at Lincoln Center

Suzanna BowlingNovember 14, 2017
Megan Hilty

Christmas, Megan Hilty and The New York Pops

Suzanna BowlingNovember 13, 2017

Viennese Opera Ball Kick-Offs with a Champagne Celebration

ElizaBeth TaylorNovember 12, 2017