MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

Los Angeles Film Critics Association Announces Their 2015 Award Winners

Los Angeles Film Critics Association Announces Their 2015 Award Winners

Michael Fassbender

Stephen Farber, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) announced “Spotlight” won for Best Picture of the Year .

“I am very pleased that our group selected a wide range of films, from big studio blockbusters to smaller independent films richly deserving of recognition. Our individual winners covered quite an impressive gamut in terms of age, experience and background.”  said Farber, on this year’s awards.

The 41st annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will be held Saturday, January 9 at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, editor Anne V. Coates will receive the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Award winners are:

PICTURE: “Spotlight”
Runner-up: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

DIRECTOR: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Todd Haynes, “Carol”

ACTOR: Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, “Son of Saul”

ACTRESS: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”
Runner-up: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”
Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, “Clouds of Sils Maria”

SCREENPLAY: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa”

ANIMATION: “Anomalisa”
Runner-up: “Inside Out”

Runner-up:  “The Tribe”

Runner-up: “The Look of Silence”

NEW GENERATION: Ryan Coogler, “Creed”

FILM EDITING: Hank Corwin, “The Big Short”
Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: John Seale, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Edward Lachman, “Carol”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Colin Gibson, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Judy Becker, “Carol”

MUSIC/SCORE: Carter Burwell, “Anomalisa” and “Carol”
Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

SPECIAL CITATION: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of films from the silent era


Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media.  Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year’s Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA’s annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.

Aside from honoring each year’s outstanding cinematic achievements, LAFCA has also made it a point to look back and pay tribute to distinguished industry veterans with its annual Career Achievement Award, which is announced in October, as well as to look forward by spotlighting fresh, promising talent with its annual New Generation Award.  In addition, over the past three decades, LAFCA has sponsored and hosted numerous film panels and events and donated funds to various Los Angeles film organizations, especially where film preservation was concerned.  LAFCA members have also collectively been vocal about taking up causes they have felt passionate about, from drafting formal protests against censorship and colorization to lending their support to controversial films.


Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret, opera and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. She has a screenplay and a TV show in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She is a proud member of the Drama Desk and the Outer Critics Circle and was a nominator. Email:

More in Celebrity

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 23, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 21, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 18, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 14, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 12, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 9, 2020

Mike ‘The Situation’ Sorrentino to Talk on Inspirational Monument Platform

ElizaBeth TaylorOctober 7, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 7, 2020

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGOctober 3, 2020