MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

Oh What A Night With The League of Professional Theatre Women

Oh What A Night With The League of Professional Theatre Women
Awardees and presentersPhoto by Shoshana Medney

The League of Professional Theatre Women Monday night at The Sheen Center for Thought & Culture (18 Bleecker Street), showed parity means women bonding together make us are alive and well and thriving.

Catherine Porter & Kelli Lynn Harrison (Co-Presidents, LPTW).Photo by Valerie Terranova

Co-presidents Kelli Lynn Harrison & Catherine Porter talked about the statistics of the women working in theatre. We have come a long way baby, but we still have far to go.

Nancy Giles (Host). Photo by Karen Shook

Host Nancy Giles, Emmy Award-winning contributor to “CBS News Sunday Morning,” welcome the room full of successful women honoring the women whose contributions to the field, across all disciplines have changed the lives for others.

May Adrales.Photo by Valerie Terranova

First up was the Josephine Abady Award, which recognizes a theatre artist who has created work of cultural diversity, given to director May Adrales by director Emily Mann.

Mari Lyn Henry, Paula Ewin. Photo by Valerie Terranova

Longtime member acting teacher and author Mari Lyn Henry’s service to the industry was recognized with a LPTW Special Award given to her by her friend Paula Ewin.

Karen Zacarias. The Lee Reynolds Award. Photo by Karin Shook

Playwright Sarah Ruhl awarded playwright and friend Karen Zacarías the Lee Reynolds Award, given annually to woman in theatre whose has helped to illuminate the possibilities for social, cultural, or political change.

Natasha Sinha and parents Photo by Shoshana Medney

The Lucille Lortel Award and grant, given to artists who show creative promise, was awarded to producer and dramaturg Natasha Sinha by Paige Evans.

Joanne Pottlitzer & Alexis Greene

LPTW through Alexis Greene bestow another special award on translator, director, and producer Joanne Pottlitzer for her service to the field and her contribution to the League in establishing an international committee.

Mimi Lien & Christine Jones. Photo by Shoshana Medney

Scenic designer Christine Jones of receive the Ruth Morley Award, given to an outstanding female theatre designer in memory of costume designer Ruth Morley. This was given to her by Mimi Lien of Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 fame. I love this award because it is a piece of art.

The Kilroys. Zakiyyah Alexander, Joy Meads, Kelly Miller. Photo by Valerie Terranova.

The LPTW Lucille Lortel Visionary Award, was given to aspiring theatre women working outside the parameters of production and the Kilroys, a collective group of female playwrights and producers in Los Angeles who work to promote gender parity in theatre won. Three of the members were there to accept and the joy they felt being recognized was truly joyful

Graciela Daniele . Photo by Shoshana Medney

Last up Michael John LaChiusa gifted director and choreographer Graciela Daniele with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Daniele has directed productions on Broadway, at Lincoln Center, the Public Theater, and at regional theatres. Her credits choreography credits include The Visit in Broadway. She’s earned 10 Tony Award nominations, and six Drama Desk nominations. Even after all she has been awarded this meant a great deal to her.

Awardees. Photo by Shoshana Medney

Women honoring women, supporting them and leading the way is empowering and something we should all be doing. Bravo League of Professional Theatre Women for showing the way.


Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. Currently she has a screenplay in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She was the Broadway Informer on the all access cable TV Show “The New Yorkers,” soon to be “The Tourist Channel.” email:

More in Events

The Drama Desk Awards Just Got Starry as George Salazar, Be More Chill and More Sign On

Suzanna BowlingMay 22, 2019

Getting Your Free Summer Movie Fix A Guide to The Free Flicks

Suzanna BowlingMay 22, 2019

Musical Theatre Heaven Jason Robert Brown and Stephen Sondheim Together With Katrina Lenk at Town Hall

Suzanna BowlingMay 20, 2019

Gary U.S. Bonds Is Still New York a Happening

Magda KatzMay 20, 2019

Inside the Chita Rivera Awards: The Interviews and Show

Suzanna BowlingMay 20, 2019

Inside the Chita Rivera Awards: The Winners

Stephen SorokoffMay 19, 2019

Walter McBride Behind the Lens as The Cher Show Takes Over Barnes and Noble

WriterMay 19, 2019

Christine Andreas, Nathan Lee Graham, Matt Doyle, Kat Cunning and More Sing For Night Of A Thousand Judys

Suzanna BowlingMay 19, 2019

Noah Galvin, Montego Glover, Jessica Hecht, Leslie Kritzer, Bonnie Milligan, Anthony Rapp, Sarah Steele, Nellie McKay and More Sign On For The 24 Hour Plays

Suzanna BowlingMay 19, 2019