MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

Shaina Taub Performs at the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award

Shaina Taub Performs at the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award

Shaina Taub, 2017 recipient of Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award, performs an aboriginal song before presenting Julianne Wicks Davis the 2018 Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award Photo by Thomas Raynor

On Monday, November 5, 2018, The Ziegfeld Club Inc, one of New York City’s first performing arts charities to benefit women presented it’s annual grants during a private ceremony held at the historic New Amsterdam Theater.

Rachel Sussman

Rachel Sussman delivers Key Note address Photo by Thomas Raynor

Lucille Lortel Award-Nominee Julianne Wick Davis (Southern Comfort) was presented the fourth annual Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award (BBZA). Created to honor a female composer of musical theatre, the BBZA is a prestigious $10,000 cash grant. In addition, the recipient receives one year of artistic and professional mentorship from a prominent composer and a producer of musical theatre.
Rebecca Steinberg

2018 Liz Swados Grant recipient Rebecca Steinberg makes acceptance speech Photo by Thomas Raynor

A talented musical theater composer whose work has been presented by esteemed NYC theatrical institutions like the Public Theater, Julianne Wick Davis joins the ranks of previous Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award recipients Masi Asare (2015), Anna Jacobs (2016), and Shaina Taub (2017).

Julianne Wicks Davis, Rebecca Steinberg,Laurie Sanderson

Liz Swados Inspiration Grant recipient Rebecca Steinberg, Ziegfeld Club Executive Director Laurie Sanderson, and Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award recipient Julianne Wicks Davis
Photo by Thomas Raynor

In addition, NYC based Trumpeter & Music Educator Rebecca Steinberg was presented with the 2018 The Liz Swados Inspiration Grant, a $5,000 cash grant for a distinguished female music educator in NYC given by The Ziegfeld Club and underwritten for 4 years by Academy Award-nominee actor Diane Lane.

Julianne Wicks Davis

Julianne Wicks Davis Accepts the 2018 Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award Photo by Thomas Raynor

The ceremony featured a special musical presentation by Julianne Wick Davis, and New York Musical Festival Producing Artistic Director Rachel Sussman served as this year’s Key Note Speaker.

The 2018 recipient of the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award was selected by panelists that included Eric Cornell, Mindi Dickstein,  Michael John LaChiusa, Clara Luthas, John Margulis, Kristen Sanderson, Mary Sedarat, Shea Sullivan, Rachel Sussman, Nadav Wiesel, Kirsten Childs and Laurie Sanderson. In addition to naming Ms. Wick Davis recipient of the BBZA, the panel would like to extend Honorable Mention to Zoe Sarnak, Helen Park and Carmel Dean.
For more information about The Ziegfeld Club, Inc, the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award and the Liz Swados Inspiration Grant please visit


Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. Currently she has a screenplay in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She was the Broadway Informer on the all access cable TV Show “The New Yorkers,” soon to be “The Tourist Channel.” email:

More in Events

Alex Brightman

Beetlejuice Star Alex Brightman Will Host Stars in The Alley

Suzanna BowlingApril 24, 2019

Bernadette Peters, Donna Murphy, Emmy Award Winner Anthony Haden-Guest and Edwina Sandys At Urban Stages Gala

Suzanna BowlingApril 24, 2019

Spring Fun in New York City

ElizaBeth TaylorApril 23, 2019

Hiring a Limo Service is the Right Option for Long and Safe Journeys

WriterApril 22, 2019

Kick Off Rooftop Season With a Trifecta of Events at Social Drink & Food

Suzanna BowlingApril 22, 2019
Mel Brooks

Comedy Reigns As Mel Brooks Takes the Stage

Suzanna BowlingApril 22, 2019

Celebrate Earth Day and Earth Week in Style

Suzanna BowlingApril 21, 2019

Ideas For Easter

Suzanna BowlingApril 21, 2019

Fifth Annual Casino Night A Star-Studded Fundraising Event

Suzanna BowlingApril 20, 2019