MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

The Drama League Announces Their Winners.

The Drama League Announces Their Winners.

A star studded ceremony held May 17th at the Marriott Marquis The Drama League (Executive Director, Gabriel Stelian-Shanks) announced the winners of the 85th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony hosted by Kristine Nielsen and Julie White.

Hadestown cast and creative team 
Reeve Carney, Eva Noblezada

Outstanding Production of a Musical: Hadestown 

Outstanding Production of a Play: The Ferryman

Outstanding Revival of a Musical: Kiss Me, Kate

Outstanding Revival of a Play: The Waverly Gallery

Bryan Cranston

Distinguished Performance Award: Bryan Cranston

Bryan Cranston

The festivities also celebrated the 2019 Special Awards Recipients:

Kelli O’Hara
Kelli O’Hara

Tony® Award winning actress and singer Kelli O’Hara currently starring in Kiss Me, Kate on Broadway, received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award.

Two-time Tony® Award nominated director Alex Timbers, of the upcoming Beetlejuice and Moulin Rouge on Broadway, received the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

Taylor Mac

MacArthur Genius Grant-winning playwright, actor, singer-songwriter, performance artist, director and producer Taylor Mac, writer of this season’s Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus on Broadway, received the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award.

During the ceremony, legendary writer Kenneth Lonergan and Director Lila Neugebauer introduced the 2019 Directing Fellows of The Drama League Directors Project: NJ Agwuna, Sharifa Elkady, Raz Golden, Chika Ike, Rebecca Marzalek-Kelly, Ismael Lara, Jr., Amanda McRaven, Lindsey Hope Pearlman, Ben Randle, Tai Thompson, Gabriel Torres, and Sophia Watt.

George Salazar
Laurie Metcalf
Laurie Metcalf

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. The Drama League Awards recognize distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements. The first Drama League Award was presented to Katharine Cornell in 1935; since then, the Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a roster of theatre legends such as Lin-Manuel Miranda, Chita Rivera, Neil Patrick Harris, Nathan Lane, Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, and Christopher Plummer.

Jeff Daniels
Zainab Jah
Joe Iconis
Eboni Booth
John Lithgow
John Lithgow
Celia Keenan-Bolger,John Lithgow
Gbenga Akinnagbe, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Gideon Glick
Celia Keenan-Bolger
Stephanie J Block
Stephanie J Block
Stacey Sargeant
Leslie Kritzer
Ana Villafane
Rachel Chavkin
Gregg Mozgala
Josh Charles
Warren Carlyle
David Neumann
Caitlin Kinnunen
Denis Jones
Santino Fontana
Santino Fontana
Santino Fontana and Lilli Cooper
Lilli Cooper
Cast and production team of Oklahoma
Ali Stoker
Jessica Frances Dukes, Kamilah Forbes
Joe Iconis and Lauren Marcus
Kelli O’Hara, Brandon Uranowitz
Brandon Uranowitz
Steward F. Lane and Bonnie Comley
Bonnie Milligan
Staś Kmieć the fabulous choreographer from Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish
Quincy Tyler Bernstine
Robert Horn
Michael Stuhlbarg
Sarah Stiles
Isabelle McCalla
Ephraim Sykes
Beth Level
Rachel Hauck
Christopher Seiber
Angie Schworer
John Behlmann
Andy Grotelueschen
Steven Skybell
Chad Beguelin and Matthew Sklar
Aaron Sorkin
Sophia Anne Caruso
David Yazbeck
Jeremy Pope, Jawan M. Jackson
Ain’t Too Proud cast and creatives
BD Wong
Anaïs Mitchell
Michael Urie
Michael Urie
Tracey Letts
Ruth Wilson
Tracy Letts
Amber Gray
Jordon E. Cooper
Jeremy Kushner
Heidi Schreck
Marin Ireland
Brooks Ashmanskas
Producers and cast of Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish
Joel Grey
Jana Robbins, Joel Grey, Hal Luftig
Aaron Sorkin
Richie Jackson and Jordan Roth
Annette Benning
Annette Benning
Stephanie Hsu
Randi Zuckerberg
Company of Bettlejuice
Alex Brightman, Sophia Anne Caruso
Lileana Blain-Cruz, Ngozi Anyawu
Andre De Shields
Kelly Butler

More in Broadway

Reeve Carney

Cabaret, Talks and Concerts For August

Suzanna BowlingAugust 1, 2021

In Times Square The Broadway Buskers Present Starbird & the Phoenix and Sky-Pony August 6th

Suzanna BowlingAugust 1, 2021

Opening August 4th Showstoppers NYC Highlights the Costumes of Stage and Screen

Suzanna BowlingJuly 31, 2021

You Can’t Stop the Beat: The Return to Live Theatre at the Stratford Festival in Canada

RossJuly 31, 2021

Want To See A Broadway Show Audiences and Performers Are Required to Be Vaccinated

Suzanna BowlingJuly 31, 2021

What to Watch: July 30

Suzanna BowlingJuly 30, 2021

Theater News: Anthony Rapp as Andy Warhol, Take Me Out Gets It’s Cast, Eva Noblezada, The Show Must Go On, Theatre for One and Theater Breaking Through Barriers Writing Workshop

Suzanna BowlingJuly 29, 2021

What to Watch: July 29

Suzanna BowlingJuly 29, 2021

What to Watch: July 28

Suzanna BowlingJuly 28, 2021