MvVO Art Launches AD ART SHOW

The York Theatre Gala and You Are There

The York Theatre Gala and You Are There

Charlayne Woodard, André De Shields. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

The York Theatre Company, dedicated to the development of new musicals and preserving musical gems from the past, recently honored Tony Award winner André De Shields (Hadestown) with the 2019 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre and producer Riki Kane Larimer (Cagney) with The York Theatre Company Founders’ Award on Monday evening, November 11, 2019 at The Edison Ballroom (240 West 47th Street).

André De Shields, Riki Kane Larimer. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

The 2019 Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala was hosted by Tony-winning actor and playwright Charlayne Woodard

Charlayne Woodard. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

 and included special guest appearances by John Ellison Conlee

Robert Creighton, Riki Kane Larimer. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Robert Creighton

Darius De Haas. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Darius De Haas, Jeffry Denman, Dawn Driver

Mercedes Ellington, André De Shields. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Mercedes Ellington

André De Shields. Kylie Kuioka. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Kylie Kuioka, Teresa Eyring, Ron Lucas

Richard Maltby, Jr., Charlayne Woodard, André De Shields. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Richard Maltby, Jr., Larry Owens, Tony Perry, Malvinna Rose, Melissa Schott, Marc Shaiman, Edward Tolve

Ekele Ukegbu, André De Shields. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Ekele Ukegbu

Ben Vereen. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Ben Vereen, Anita Welch

Charlayne Woodard, André De Shields, Freida Williams. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Freida Williams

Patrick Wilson. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Patrick Wilson

Patrick Wilson, John Ellison Conlee, David Yazbeck. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

David Yazbek

Students of Marymount College.
Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

 The Alumni Ensemble of The Boys and Girls Choir of Harlem, Students from Marymount College, and York Musical Theater Training Program Alum.  

James Morgan. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

Featured in the program were musical numbers from the hit Broadway musicals The Wiz, Hair, Ain’t Misbehavin’, The Full Monty, and more! Michael Unger (York’s former Associate Artistic Director, recently appointed Artistic Director of Skylight Music Theatre in Wisconsin) directs the evening’s celebration under the music direction of Eric Svejcar.

Musical Theater Training Program Alum. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award is presented at an annual gala which benefits The York Theatre Company, and is presented with the endorsement of the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization and the Hammerstein Family. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander and Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick, Tom Meehan, Barbara Cook, Paul Gemignani, Alan Menken, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Angela Lansbury, Joel Grey, the legendary songwriting team of Harvey Schmidt & Tom Jones, and five-time Tony Award winner Susan Stroman.

Full Company. Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.

The York Theatre Company Founders’ Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant impact on the sustainability of the Company, and of the arts.  Past recipients of the award include Janet Hayes Walker, the Founding Artistic Director of the York, W. David McCoy, Sarah Tod Smith, Molly Grose, Robert Goldberg, and Gerald F. Fisher.

The York Theatre Company, celebrating its 50th year, is the only company in New York, and one of the few in the world, whose two-fold mission is to produce new musical works and rediscover musical gems from the past.  The York’s credits include more than 70 fully staged productions, more than 100 Mufti semi-staged readings, 35 cast albums, and commercial transfers that include the Broadway productions of Sweeney Todd (1989-90), and Souvenir (2005-2006).

Jim Kierstead, Claudia Zahn, W. David McCoy, Riki Kane Larimer, 
André De Shields Joan Ross Sorkin, Laurance Holzman, James Morgan, Evans Haile.
Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.
Dawn Driver, Tony Perry, Malvinna Rose, Ron Lucas, Anita Welch.
Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.
Melissa Schott, Robert Creighton, Jessica Wockenfuss, Edward Tolve.
Photo Credit: Ben Strothmann.


Suzanna, co-owns and publishes the newspaper Times Square Chronicles or T2C. At one point a working actress, she has performed in numerous productions in film, TV, cabaret, opera and theatre. She has performed at The New Orleans Jazz festival, The United Nations and Carnegie Hall. She has a screenplay and a TV show in the works, which she developed with her mentor and friend the late Arthur Herzog. She is a proud member of the Drama Desk and the Outer Critics Circle and was a nominator. Email:

More in Events

It’s a Jolly Holiday at Paper Mill Playhouse

Suzanna BowlingDecember 6, 2021

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGDecember 5, 2021

Rockabilly Christmas Lights Up Swing 46

Jeffery Lyle SegalDecember 3, 2021

Theatre News: Stephen Sondheim, Patti LuPone Out of Company Tonight?, American Utopia, Charlie Brown Christmas, Theatre World Awards and Eddie Mekka Passes On

Suzanna BowlingDecember 3, 2021

Prostate Cancer Foundation’s Gala with Andrea Bocelli, David Foster & Katharine McPhee

ElizaBeth TaylorDecember 2, 2021

35th Annual Footwear News Achievement Awards Step Out in Style

WriterDecember 2, 2021

Open Auditions NJ Rep 2022 Season

Suzanna BowlingDecember 2, 2021

Music News: Klea Blackhurst, Jim Caruso, and Billy Stritch, Sydney Myer, Holiday Series at The Lucille Lortel and Maxine Linehan

Suzanna BowlingDecember 2, 2021

The Glorious Corner

G. H. HARDINGDecember 1, 2021